Review: Macy’s MADE Fashion Week Line

Inspired by New York’s MADE Fashion Week initiative co-founded by Jenné Lombardo, Mazdack Rassi and Keith Baptista, Macy’s has launched a new clothing line with the intention to embody fashion, music, art and pop culture. It is now available at 150 Macy’s stores and online at macys.com. Throughout the season, 20 to 30 new pieces will be rotated for availability. Check out Erin Fischesser’s article which explores the line at greater length here.

Macys.com has only 24 items available at this time under the MADE fashion week label ranging from $39-$98. This collection was created to bring the urban-chic street style of fashion week to everyone – but did they accomplish their goal?

Impulse Collarless Striped Varsity Jacket ($98), Sleeveless Scoop-Neck Racerback Tank ($39) & Faux-Leather Shorts ($69).

Impulse Collarless Striped Varsity Jacket ($98), Sleeveless Scoop-Neck Racerback Tank ($39) & Faux-Leather Shorts ($69).

This is one of the looks on macys.com and at first, I really like the outfit until I see the price for each item. If that varsity jacket is $98, I would hope it is very well-lined and winter-ready, but as most aren’t, I can’t see a reason for it costing so much. I feel the same way about the other two pieces in the outfit. A plain, solid color tank top for almost $40? Why? I do really love the faux leather shorts in this outfit, I think they add an edgy quality that plain black shorts just could not match. However, I don’t immediately think “fashion week street style!” I would and probably have worn an outfit similar to this to school, I just don’t think it’s that ground-breaking. I think the price is also high for those, but they are definitely my favorite aspect about this look all together. I’d also pair them with a bright colored peplum tank or a white tee &  gold chain.

Screen Shot 2013-03-17 at 9.16.42 PM

Impulse Galaxy-Print Motorcycle Jacket ($79) & Straight-Leg Pants ($69)

This look to me is very  “fashion week”. I see the funky, experimental look that is unique and expected from street style. For those reasons, this piece does accomplish the designer’s goal, but overall, I just don’t like the outfit. At least… not together. I’d maybe wear the jacket with straight leg medium wash Levi’s and black leather booties, or the pants with a red tee and plain white Chuck Taylors or Supra high tops. I don’t think the price of either of these items is too much, I think these pieces are totally affordable for what diversity and longevity you could get out of them.

Impulse Faux Leather A-Line Skirt ($79)

Impulse Faux Leather A-Line Skirt ($79)

Aside from the model’s awesome leg tattoos, not a whole lot about this outfit makes me look twice. The skirt is a really nice basic. I like the use of faux fur in all of this collection. I really, really like the A-line fit, I think bodycon skirts are totally wrong for any outfit earlier than 8 pm. I do like the styling of this model, the fishnets and skirt make her look so tough, but the top brings it back to a girly, sweet spring-time look. I suppose I would see an outfit like this at fashion week, maybe a different printed shirt with a faux fur vest and sheer nude tights.

Impulse Sleeveless Pocket Utility Vest ($69), Sleeveless Scoop-Neck Racerback Tank ($39) & Floral-Print Wide-Leg Pants ($69).

Impulse Sleeveless Pocket Utility Vest ($69), Sleeveless Scoop-Neck Racerback Tank ($39) & Floral-Print Wide-Leg Pants ($69).

I find this look so effortlessly stylish, and to me, that is what street style is all about. I do think at fashion week an outfit like this would be thrifted or vintage, but it accomplishes the designers goal once more. The vest and pants (I won’t talk about that unnecessary tank top again) are such versatile pieces that I think anyone could embrace. The vest would also be cute with a button down denim top and patterend leggings, and the pants would also be cute with a wife-beater (can’t you tell I just hate that darned tank top! :-p) with a black, studded, leather moto vest.

Impulse Top, Short-Sleeved High-Neck Faux Leather Tee ($69).

Impulse Top, Short-Sleeved High-Neck Faux Leather Tee ($69).

This piece is one of the coolest in the entire collection. A white tee that is faux leather, I mean, can’t you picture this in a street style outfit shot at NYFW? I adore this entire idea. The high neck-line is a flashback to classic Hanes white tees but the faux leather adds such a unique effect that will take any outfit from average to incredible. The model is styled with a gold chain, a look that I absolutely adore! This would be really cute paired with a studded denim vest and patterned jeans or a black faux fur vest and dark wash denim.

MADE Fashion Week for Impulse Sleeveless Painterly-Print Blouse ($59) & Painterly-Print Maxi Skirt  ($59).

MADE Fashion Week for Impulse Sleeveless Painterly-Print Blouse ($59) & Painterly-Print Maxi Skirt ($59).

I have absolutely nothing positive to say about this ensemble. I don’t know why you would ever think to pair the blouse with the maxi skirt. I think the blouse could work on its own with a structured white blazer and black skinny jeans, but that maxi skirt cannot be saved. However, I do feel like I see some off-the-wall looks at fashion week, so for that reason, it doesn’t completely fail…but almost.

Impulse Dress, Sleeveless Painterly Drop-Waist ($89).

Impulse Dress, Sleeveless Painterly Drop-Waist ($89).

I really don’t like this pattern overall, but I do think this is a better structured as a dress. I would imagine this on any model at NYFW wearing this under a black or white leather moto jacket and creepers. The peter pan collar is definitely “in” right now, I think it adds a delicate, feminine touch and contrast to the harsh pattern. This definitely is street style, but it just doesn’t have that WOW factor.

–  –  –   –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –   –  –

Overall, I think the intention behind each look is pretty obvious: very urban, young, and somewhat daring looks. I do think the designers accomplished that. I don’t find the outfits to be exceptionally wearable, or interesting either. I think the prices are way too high, especially since these pieces have copycats sitting in Forever21’s, H&M’s and Goodwill’s across the nation. I did really enjoy some of the pieces, including the white faux leather short sleeve shirt, but overall, I don’t feel the need to incorporate any of these pieces into my wardrobe. I give the collection a 3/5 because it did accomplish the designers goals, but I didn’t find the designs to be incredibly thoughtful, creative or groundbreaking compared to what is already available in the market of street style. The prices are unreasonable. I had high hopes going into looking at the designs and I feel pretty let down. These are pieces and outfits I’ve seen a hundred times on Tumblr. I hope the other options that will be circulated in the collection will have something that catches my eye.

What do you think? Do you agree or disagree with anything I said? Leave a comment and let me know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

