Photographer Spotlight: Nenaji Agbolabori

“Coming to America just opened an avenue to freely express myself artistically.”

Meet Nigerian born photographer, Nenaji Agbolarbori. His passion for photography has brought him onto a career path thousands of people dream of.

His most proud moment? Shooting Mercedes Benz Fashion Week in New York: “I was still in shock until I walked inside Lincoln Center, then everything felt real. I felt proud!”

Join me as I chat about his journey, his passion and his work.

Czar by Cesar Galino at MBFW. Photo by Nenaji Agbolabori

Czar by Cesar Galindo at MBFW. Photo by Nenaji Agbolabori

In 2007, while Nenaji was completing college, a realistic vision of himself as a photographer came through.

“In attempt to design marketing materials for my clients, I had a hard time finding the right images to use. Either they sent a bad photo or I had to scan hard copies. So I decided to pick up the camera.” he said.

His work didn’t go unnoticed. More and more people began requesting his photography skills for their gigs.  After realizing his potential, he outgrew his amateur equipment, graduating to a Canon 30D from a Canon SX110. He has since invested further, and now shoots with a Canon 7D.

Photo by Nenaji Agbolabori

BCBG at MBFW. Photo by Nenaji Agbolabori

PRR: What about photography sparked your interest?

NA: My first camera was SX110is. For as long as I can remember, I have been passionate about photography, but art in general as a little boy. Coming to America just opened to avenue to freely express myself artistically. So in the last couple of years, the interest has involved into an obsession that I know will never go away. Once I graduated from college, I decided to focus on photography as a career and use my graphic design skills to further enhance my work. I can’t imagine not having photography be an integral part of my life – it’s something I eat, breathe and sleep.

Project Runway at MBFW. Photo by Nenaji Agbolabori

Project Runway at MBFW. Photo by Nenaji Agbolabori

PRR: What other creative expressions or hobbies do you enjoy?

NA: Hmm… Aside from photography? I’m a freelance graphic and web designer. So when I’m not taking pictures or editing pictures, I am either branding a company or designing their marketing collateral. My hobbies? I enjoy watching movies or TV shows. I really like Suits.

Nicholas K at MBFW. Photo by Nenaji Agbolabori

Nicholas K at MBFW. Photo by Nenaji Agbolabori

PRR: What advice do you have for beginners?

NA: Shoot… shoot and shoot so more even if you are not getting paid, shoot! And never be afraid to ask questions.

Carolina Herrera at MBFW. Photo by Nenaji Agbolabori

Carolina Herrera at MBFW. Photo by Nenaji Agbolabori

As for the future?

“Next Year, I would like to go to London for Fashion Week right after I leave New York in September.” Said Nenaji.

Rebecca Minkoff at MBFW. Photo by Nenaji Agbolabori

Rebecca Minkoff at MBFW. Photo by Nenaji Agbolabori

Check out more of Nenaji’s work here: http://nenajimedia.com/runway
Stay in touch on Instagram  and Twitter: nenajimedia

1 comment
  1. With all this color, why not Pursuing a Career in Art?

Leave a Reply

