Olivia Wilde’s Glamour September Issue

For the September issue of Vogue, the gorgeous and talented Olivia Wilde shared her newest role: mother.

Draped in high-end threads and jewels, she proudly shares her most precious accessory, her son Otis. Unlike some of the other maternity photoshoots we’ve seen (perfectly posed, rigid emotion, etc), Wilde shares a very intimate look at her naturing role as a mother – while breastfeeding her son. As a mom-to-be who is interested in designer fashion and nurturing aspects of motherhood, I found this cover issue the best of the season.

olivia

Her new role may be the most important, long-term that she’s taken on, but her acting career won’t be put on hold. As she told Glamour:  “My mom is such a badass working mother. That inspired me when I was pregnant. I wasn’t going to sacrifice myself because I was becoming a mother.”

olivia2 olivia3

Perhaps her most memorable shot from the entire shoot is the one of her breastfeeding Otis. For moms-to-be across the world, the stigma that follows breastfeeding has been a huge area of concern, and even advocation. When it came to the breastfeeding shot, Wilde found it more natural than anything else.

“Being shot with Otis is so perfect because any portrait of me right now isn’t complete without my identity as a mother being a part of that. Breast-feeding is the most natural thing. I don’t know, now it feels like Otis should always be on my breast. It felt like we were capturing that multifaceted woman we’ve been discussing—that we know we can be. You can be someone who is at once maternal and professional and sexy and self-possessed. [But] I mean, I certainly don’t really look like that when I’m [typically] breast-feeding. And there’s usually a diaper involved.”

 

olivia4

To read the full conversation with Glamour and get the details on her fabulous outfits, check out Glamour.com.

Photos by Patrick Demarchelier via Glamour.

Leave a Reply

